Indian National Sports Awards 2012 List

On August 29, 2012National Sports Day for India, President Pranab Mukherjee will present the National Sports Awards for the year 2012.

Every year sports persons from various disciplines are awarded the prestigious national sports awards which include :

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna- India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports.
  • Arjuna Award— Recognizes outstanding achievement in National sports.
  • Dronacharya award- an award presented by the government of India for excellence in sports coaching.
  • Dhyan Chand Award- India’s highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games. The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand.




This year Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award will be shared by two Olympic medalist from the just concluded London 2012 Games. One is Silver medalist – Vijay Kumar (Shooting) & other bronze medalist – Yogeshwar Dutt (Wrestling). who will receive the trophy that consists of a medal, citation and cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each from the President.

Prominent Arjuna Awardees out of the 25 (last year being 19) include -

  • Yuvraj Singh (Cricket)
  • Deepika Kumari (Archery)
  • Parupalli Kashyap (Badminton)
  • Ashwini Ponappa (Badminton)
  • Sardar Singh (Hockey)
  • Dipika Pallikal (Squash)
  • Sandeep Sejwal (Swimming)

Each of them will receive a trophy that consists of a statuette, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash award of Rs 5 lakh.

The number of Prestigious Dronacharya awardees have been increased from 5 to 8 this year – which includes

  • Yashvir Singh (Wrestling) – bronze medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt’s mentor
  • Virender Poonia(Athletics)
  • Sunil Davas (kabbadi)
  • Harinder Singh (hockey)
  • Dr Satyapal (parathletics)
  • BI Fernandez (Boxing) – First foreigner to receive Dronacharya award
  • JS Bhatia (Athletics), Bhawani Mukherjee (Table Tennis) were selected for Life Time Achievement award.

The Award comprises of a plaque, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of Rs 5 lakhs.

The number of Dhyan Chand awardees have also been increased from 3 to 4 this year – which includes – four former athletes –

  • Jagraj Singh Mann (Athletics)
  • Gundeep Kumar (Hockey)
  • Vinod Kumar (Wrestling)
  • Sukhbir Singh Tokas (Para-Sports)

A real surprise here is once again the omission of Rahul Selfless Dravid from the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award list – a person who played only for the team.

If you see some of the previous Rajiv Khel Ratna Awardees, you really feel sorry for Dravid – even MS Dhoni has got it – so is MSD better than Dhoni?

Now just to calm down Rahul Dravid & his fansBCCI have nominated Rahul Dravid for the Padma Bhushan – India’s 3rd Highest Civilian Award.

Let’s see if he gets this one atleast..

Indian National Sports Award 2012 List [PDF]Indian National Sports Award 2012 List [PDF]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Share This Post

Related Articles

© 2015 The Opening Batsman. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Visit to discover Indian blogs Powered by WordPress · Designed by Theme Junkie
seo seo consulting escalateseo seo basics seo tools seo tips seo tutorial seo services google seo seo software seo forum